Meet Dr. Liden, Part II

[continued from Part I]

Dr. Liden | The Being Well CenterIf I hadn’t had to live with the ramifications of Attention Deficit Disorder in my own home, I probably would have stayed with the approach [referring the management of ADD back to medical professionals with little training in ADD treatment] for a long time, thinking I was really making a difference in people’s lives.

Instead, as I faced the problem daily, I became aware of the pervasive, chronic nature of ADD and the need for a much more systematic and comprehensive treatment approach.

As a result, I left Children’s Hospital and organized a team of professionals including teachers, speech-language pathologists, psychologists, counselors, nurses, and others to begin TRANSACT Health Systems, now known as The Being Well Center.

Located near Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, The Being Well Center provides diagnostic and treatment services for individuals with a variety of developmental, learning, and behavior problems — again, the most common being ADD.

At The Being Well Center, our initial focus was children and adolescents with these problems. However, it has become more and more apparent to us that there are large numbers of adults who continue to struggle with problems like ADD. Many of them are the parents and grandparents of the children we see. We have expanded our services to meet their needs as well.

Dr. Craig Liden | The Being Well CenterAs Senior Medical Director of The Being Well Center, I have counseled thousands of patients with ADD. I have worked with their family members. I have talked to hundreds of PTA groups and community organizations. I have conducted many in-service sessions about ADD for medical and educational professionals have supervised the expansion of our TRANSACT program to the other parts of Pennsylvania and the Eastern United States.

Through my involvement in all of these endeavors, I have become impressed with how little most people know about the common problem of ADD. Even though the same questions keep coming up, no one has provided a good resource that patients, parents, teachers, and others can use to better understand ADD. That is the rationale for my books, this blog, and our online communities on Twitter, Facebook, and LinkedIn: to provide practical, down-to-earth answers to the common questions about ADD, its assessment, and its treatment.

In putting together the answers, I have tried to combine the scientific knowledge I have gained as a researcher and teacher, the insights I have developed in working with professionals from other fields, the practical experience I have acquired in caring for more than 10,000 patients with ADD, and the hopes and fears I have experienced as a parent of a child with ADD.


Read Part I of Dr. Liden’s personal and professional 30-year journey in treating more than 10,000 individuals with ADD/ADHD.

 

About cblmd

medical director of the being well center, ADHD expert, speaker, and author

Leave a Reply

